iorewcourse.blogg.se

Golf wrx me and my golf youtube
Golf wrx me and my golf youtube









Regarding male amateurs, since 2005, the United States Golf Association (USGA) reports that the average handicap has been between 14 and 15. How Fast Is An Amateur’s Average Golf Swing Speed? Let’s drill down and take a look at some other club head speed numbers. So, basically, although swing technique, ball striking, and equipment fitting are all important to distance and scoring…simply put, if you want to be a longer or better player or both, you must also have more swing speed. Trackman® research also shows that there is a direct correlation between your club head speed and your handicap (and thus scoring). You can see this in 2017-2019 Arccos data published by MyGolfSpy in 2020 that shows the difference in driving distance by handicap group. Not only does more swing speed help you hit the ball farther, research shows there is a direct correlation between your driving distance (and club head speed) and handicap (and thus scoring). Here’s a little more detail to illustrate the correlation between driving distance and swing speed. Take a look at this 2017 chart of the average swing speeds for various categories of golfers.Īs I’m sure you can imagine, the World Championship Record for club head speed of 157 mph by Mitch Grassing in 2017 would hit the ball much farther than if he had the swing speeds of the PGA TOUR or LPGA TOUR players, who in turn would hit the ball much farther than amateurs with their given swing speeds. Simply put, the more swing speed you have, the farther you’ll hit the ball. Now, I’ll talk about swing speed training and how you can increase your swing speed later on down the page, but to start, let’s simply gets started discussing swing speed in general.įirst of all, how important is your average golf swing speed? However, there’s another way to get more distance that most people, even tour players, don’t even know about (and how easy it is to do) or realize is possible… swing speed training.

#Golf wrx me and my golf youtube driver#

In recent years, the larger golfing public is also beginning to recognize the importance of getting custom fit for their driver in order to maximize driving distance and their overall average golf swing speed. When it comes to hitting the ball farther, a lot of golfers realize that technique is important. However, I enjoyed the process, and now I know I COULD do it if I really wanted to.NOTE: This article is updated annually after the conclusion of each PGA TOUR, LPGA Tour and World Long Driver Championship season. I took off A LOT of material, and I think the weight of the head really went down. I’m not sure I’m ready to try it on my gamers. After some elbow grease, the grind looked smooth and consistent.Īfter a bit of sanding, the grind was done.Īltogether, I enjoyed the project. A WRX’er suggested that I use a metal file to smooth out the bumps. A stationary belt sander would work a whole lot better and make a much smoother cut. The reason for the “bad” results was that I used a grinder. I added the passes in relation to the shapie markings. This was GREAT advice, as you really need to get a feel for it as you go. The advice from the WRX postings is to start where you have the most room to mess up–or, in other words, start with the place where the most material will be taken off, as you can fix a problem there easily. Photos below show the Chikaras and my sharpie marking. My goal was to replicate the Chikara wedge grind. Pics of my starting wedge below:ġ) either a belt sander or a grinding wheelįor my wedge grind, I decided to pull the shaft from the head, as it’s usually easier to maneuver the head by itself without the shaft.Īs shown in the references, the next thing to do is mark the grind with a sharpie. If you don’t have a wedge you want to sacrifice, Golfsmith sells grinding blanks for $10/head (see ). It had an ungodly amount of bounce, so I decided it was a good test piece. I started with an old wedge–Tommy Armour. But making a club that’s exactly to your own specs is pretty amazing–and, of course, I wouldn’t do it if it weren’t at least a little fun. It takes a lot of patience, care, and confidence to do it right. Grinding a wedge is a pretty neat process. To start, I always like to point to my references.









Golf wrx me and my golf youtube